We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Nostalgia Canon

by halc

supported by
Evan thumbnail
Evan An amazing video game album. As so much like it says nostalgia in it. Makes you smile and wanna pick up your old games and play again. Favorite track: Flower Power (Yoshi's Island).
Deidre House
Deidre House thumbnail
Deidre House A collection of videogame classics given the halc quasi-chiptune treatment. Favorite track: Satch Man feat. WillRock (Mega Man 10).
drumj8 thumbnail
drumj8 fantastic stuff. I like the part when the music starts playing. Favorite track: Flower Power (Yoshi's Island).
Ben Briggs
Ben Briggs thumbnail
Ben Briggs The first track alone is reason enough to add this amazing album to your collection. Extremely good work. Favorite track: The Never Ending Legend (Zelda: OoT & LttP).
Dave Voyles
Dave Voyles thumbnail
Dave Voyles That first track is an incredible mash-up of Zelda love. Favorite track: The Never Ending Legend (Zelda: OoT & LttP).


Nostalgia Canon is a collection of nine[bit] video game music arrangements, spotlighting five brand new, never-before-heard tracks alongside a handful of competition entires, fan requests, and otherwise previously unreleased remixes of such beloved series' as The Legend of Zelda, Bomberman, Yoshi's Island, Dark Cloud and more.

This album is a labor of love for the composers, songs and sounds that inspired me to become a composer myself, and the nostalgic melodies that bond us as a VGM loving community and create an outlet for us to inspire creativity in one another and channel our beloved childhood memories into the purest form.

Special thanks to:

Dave, Larry and all of the OC ReMix staff & community for being my springboard, so to speak; without the rigorous but encouraging quality expectations of the panel and the endearing support and feedback from fellow listeners, fans and remixers, I would not be the halc that stands before you today.

My wonderful wife Emily, who's love and support for my passion is beyond description.

My good friends Benjamin Briggs, Bryan Herkless and Will Harby, for always willing to lend an ear and just being cool dudes in general.

And of course, to all of you fans, followers, et. cetera; for being so openly supportive and vocal over the last few years. This album is my gift to you.~



released November 9, 2013

Composed, arranged and produced by Drew "halc" Wheeler.

Synth solo in track 3 composed by William "WillRock" Harby.

Artwork format, design and typography by Drew Wheeler.

Yoshi, Bomberman and Tint illustrations by Drew Wheeler.
Sonic illustration by Nerkin.
Link illustration by Lady-of-Link.
Master Higgins illustration by Meibatsu.
Ness illustration by ProfBacon.
X illustration by ultimatemaverickx
Toan illustration by Poefish.

Songs arranged:
"Title Theme" by Koji Kondo.
"Opening Demo" by Koji Kondo.
"Saria's Song" by Koji Kondo.
"Song of Storms" by Koji Kondo.
"King of Blades" by Akari Kaida.
"Mr. X Stage" by Yuko Takehara.
"Blue Resort" by Akifumi Tada.
"Your Name, Please" by Hip Tanaka.
"Yoshi's Island" by Koji Kondo.
"Collision Chaos" by Masafumi Ogata.
"Underground Zone" by Tomonori Sawada.
"Old Oddities" by Mattias Häggström Gerdt.
"Brownboo" by Tomohito Nishiura.
"Hiya-Hiya Island" by Akihiro Akamatsu, Sachiko Oita, Shinji Nakaya.


all rights reserved



halc Indiana

9-bit • VGM

contact / help

Contact halc

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like halc, you may also like: